https://rancher.com/ logo
Title
r

refined-analyst-8898

05/13/2023, 2:15 PM
I noticed something unexpected with the v1.1.2 ISO installer. I installed v1.1.2 on a different disk on the same machine where v1.1.1 had previously been installed, and the previous disk was silently, unexpectedly re-used by the new install as a persistence volume.
Put another way, my intention was to allocate the disk from the previous v1.1.1 install as a Longhorn storage class. Unexpectedly, the installation succeeded on the correct disk, but the persistence volumes from the v1.1.1 installation were re-used with the v1.1.2 installation. I only selected the new disk in the v1.1.2 installer, but the old disk was used as well as the new disk.
w

witty-jelly-95845

05/16/2023, 5:27 PM
Whilst not the same reason, advice is to delete all partitions first when reusing disks - https://www.suse.com/c/rancher_blog/when-to-use-k3s-and-rke2/
­čĹŹ 1